Welcome to the 7th Grade Science Page of the kramerscience1 wiki!

If you need to contact Mrs. Kramer, please e-mail kramerl@arcadia.k12.us.us.



Grade 7 Science Benchmarks :

GRADE SEVEN SCIENCE BENCHMARKS.doc
GRADE SEVEN SCIENCE BENCHMARKS.doc

GRADE SEVEN SCIENCE BENCHMARKS.doc

For information regarding the class, course materials, and resources, scroll down to find the information you seek.


LINK TO THE ONLINE VERSION OF THE SCIENCE TEXTBOOKS: Pearson Science

!!!!! I will provide you with log-in instructions in class.


* LINK TO Earthsky.org. Check this often for all sorts of interesting science news.


9-2-13 Tues
Welcome to 7th grade Science class with Mrs. Kramer! Make it a habit to check this page often to see what we've been doing in science, what you may have missed if you were absent, and as a resource for your middle school science class.

10-3-14 Fri
Reviewing scientific measurements and taking a closer look at density and how to calculate it. Watch this

:

Scientific Method Virtual Lab
This link will take you to the lab page: Scientific Method Virtual Lab

11-8-14 Fri
Let's take a closer look at how geologists learn about Earth's interior structure. "Unreachable Frontier"

11-17-14 Mon
In light of the recent historic comet landing,complete this assignment: Comet Landing
(To save your copy of the document,make sure you rename it like this: HrComet Landing–Name

.

Here is the video we watched together in class:

12-2-14 Tues
Test you knowledge of sea-floor spreading here: Sea-floor Spreading and Subduction

12-5-14 Fri
Let's review all of the concepts in our chapter on Plate Tectonics by completing this interactive: "Dynamic Earth Interactive" using this guide:

And if you want to watch something really cool, here is a short video of a volcano erupting in Iceland. Remember, Iceland sits atop the Mid-Atlantic Ridge and is the world's largest volcanic island. The video was shot using a drone and a Go-Pro camera! Iceland's Bardarbunga volcano

12-9-14 Tues
Don't forget to study for your test on Plate Tectonics for WEDNESDAY!



12-11-14 Thur
Today we start our study of earthquakes. Here is a copy of the Guided Reading for Section1:

12-12-14 Fri

Describing where faults are usually found and why. Here is the handout from today's lecture:
REMEMBER!! "Forces in Earth's Crust GR" is due MONDAY

12-15-14 Mon

Begin building a model illustrate the type of faulting that can occur.

12-16-14 Tues
Continue building your fault model illustrating the different types of faults. Remember to answer the questions using good science vocabulary. The lab will be due on Wednesday. THERE WILL BE A QUIZ ON THE LAB ON WEDNESDAY AS WELL!

12-18-14 Thur
Who doesn't love Bill Nye the Science Guy!! Watch him teach us about earthquakes!!!


1-5-15 Mon
Using the triangulation method to locate the epicenter of and earthquake: Earthquake Epicenter Virtual Lab

1-6-15 Tues
Review the triangulation method used for locating the epicenter of an earthquake by watching this short video: Locating an Earthquake

When you are done with the "Earthquake Epicenter Virtual Lab" quiz yourself on what you have learned here:




1-7-15 Wed
You lucky ducks...you don't have school today because of the cold! Enjoy your day off and do something positive!!

1-8-15 Thur
Your epicenter labs are due today. Pleas get them turned in to me. We spend today reviewing Chapter 3, Section 1, "Volcanoes and Plate Tectonics". This is the video I showed you in class: "Hawaii Is A Hot Spot Volcano".

"Properties of Magma GR" is handed out today and will be due on FRIDAY.

1-9-15 Fri
Be sure to keep up on your vocabulary. Review the terms "viscosity" and "silica". Today we will watch these videos to demonstrate the vocabulary words and the concepts they represent.
  1. "Dancing on Lava"
  2. "Sources and Types of Lava"
  3. "Demo of Shield- vs. Stratovolcanoes"
  4. "Two Different Types of Volcanoes"

REMEMBER!! "Properties of Magma GR" is due MONDAY!

1-12-15 Mon
"Properties of Magma GR" is DUE TODAY!!

Your new assignment is "Volcanic Eruptions GR" and will be due on WEDNESDAY. The test will be on Thursday and will cover bother earthquakes and volcanoes.


1-13-15 Tues
Don't forget -- "Properties of Magma GR" is due tomorrow (Wednesday). The test on Quakes and Volcanoes is THURSDAY!!

One last video linking types of magma to types of volcanoes: "Two Different Kinds of Volcanoes"

1-14-15 Wed
Announcements
  • TODAY IS THE LAST DAY TO HAND IN YOUR LATE WORK FOR THE QUARTER!

  • "QUAKES AND VOLCANOES" TEST TOMORROW

Today
  • We will cover the stages of volcanic activity (pg 97 in your book). To better illustrate this, we look at a couple more short videos about Mt. St. Helens:




1-15-15 Thur

Announcements
  • I will be checking book covers on Monday. Anyone with a book not covered will receive a detention

Today
  • "Earthquakes and Volcanoes" test.

1-16-15 Fri
Today
  • Since we have shortened periods today, we are going to take a closer look at some volcano-related topics.
  1. Tracking the Hot Spot
  2. Under Yellowstone (NG)
  3. Yellowstone National Park
  4. Old Faithful Streaming Webcam
  5. Pompeii

1-19-15 Mon

Announcements
  • Checking book covers today!
Today

1-20-15 Tues

Announcements
  • "Properties of Minerals GR" due WEDNESDAY

Today
  • Read and discuss pp 114-122. You saw me demonstrate how to use a streak plate and what streak tells us (the color of the mineral's powder).

1-21-15 Wed

Announcements
  • "Properties of Minerals GR" due TODAY

Today

1-22-15 Thur

Announcements
  • "Properties of Minerals Review" AND Math Mineral Density (pg 119, #1-7) due TODAY

Today

1-23-15 Fri

Today

1-16-15 Mon
Announcements
  • REMEMBER "How Minerals Form GR" is due TUESDAY

Today
  • Look at the photo on page 125. Real or faked??



  • If you have the time and the interest, you can watch the full video"



1-27-15 Tues

Announcements
  • "How Minerals Form GR" is due today
Today
  • Read and discuss pp 126-127
  • Video Field Trip :-)

1-28-15 Wed


Today

1-29-15 Thur


Today
  • Finish "Mineral Mania" on the computers. DO NOT TURN IT IN TODAY. We will discuss this tomorrow.
  • ASSIGNMENT: When done with the computer, put it away and start "Using Mineral Resources GR". This will be due MONDAY.

1-31-15 Fri
Announcements
  • "Mineral Mania" gets turned in today
  • REMEMBER "Using Mineral Resources GR" due MONDAY

Today
  • Mining 101: discuss mineral uses and how we extract minerals and ores from the earth.

2-2-15 Mon
Announcements
  • "Using Mineral Resources GR" due TODAY

Today

2-3-15 Tues
Announcements
  • ASSIGNMENT: Chapter Review, pp 139-141, #1-15, 17-19, 21-24. Page 141 #1-5. DUE MONDAY

Today
  • Continue with the Virtual Mineral Id. lab.
  • Don't forget to answer the journal questions on the back of the data table. DUE BY THE END OF CLASS WEDNESDAY

2-4-15 Wed

Today
  • View "Rocks and Minerals: The Hard Fact"
  • Finish Virtual Mineral Id Lab and turn it in.
  • If you have time remaining, use it to work on the chapter review assignment that's due MONDAY

2-4-15 Thur

Announcements
  • Remember to turn in you Virtual Mineral Id Lab!
  • Don't forget the chapter review assignment for MONDAY

Today
  • I will put you into groups of 2-3 and we will begin the "Mineral Identification lab"
  • Record the number of you mineral kit on your lab sheet. INVENTORY ALL SUPPLIES IN THE KITS AT THE START AND END OF EVERY PERIOD!
  • When testing hardness, it's a good idea to keep careful record of your results on a separate sheet of notebook paper. This can be stapled to you lab before it gets turned in.

2-9-15 Mon

Announcements
  • Chapter Review is due today!
  • "MINERALS TEST" will be Thursday

Today
  • Continue with the "Mineral Identification Lab". Remember to carefully test one mineral at a time and review the possibilities with care before coming to me with your identification. Keep your results to yourself!
  • The lab should be ready to be turned in by the end of class Tuesday.

2-10-15 Tues

Announcements
  • REMEMBER Minerals Test will be Thursday
  • "Mineral Identification Lab" must be completed TODAY

Today

2-11-15 Wed
Announcements
  • TEST TOMORROW

Today
  • "Mineral Key Terms/Concept Map" due today
  • Review for the test TOMORROW

2-13-15 Fri
Announcements

Today
  • Video Preview on Chapter 5, "Rocks"

2-16-15 Mon
Announcements
  • REMEMBER:"Classifying Rocks GR" due Tuesday

Today
  • The characteristics used to identify rocks

2-17-15 Tues
Announcements
  • "Classifying Rocks GR" due today
  • ASSIGNMENT: "Classifying Rocks Review" (on the back of "Rock Identification Lab") due Wednesday, end of class.

Today

2-18-15 Wed
Announcements
  • "Rock Identification Lab/Review" due by the end of class today

Today

2-19-15 Thur
Announcements
  • Correct "Classifying Rocks Review?Rock Identification Table
  • REMEMBER"Igneous Rocks GR" due FRIDAY

Today
  • Not impressed with rocks yet? This may change your mind!

2-20-15 Fri
Announcements




2-23-15 Mon
Announcements
  • "The Same but Different" due TODAY

Today

2-24-15 Tues
Announcements
  • REMEMBER: “Sedimentary Rocks GR” due WEDNESDAY
Today
  • Sedimentary Rocks, pp 152-153 in your book. Weathering, erosion,deposition, compaction, cementation.

2-25-15 Wed
Announcements
  • "Sedimentary Rocks GR" due TODAY

Today
  • Finish our discussion of sedimentary rocks, pp 154-156
  • NO HOMEWORK OVER YOUR LONG WEEKEND :-)

3-2-15 Mon
Today








3-3-15 Tues
Announcements
  • "Rocks from Reefs GR" due TODAY

Today
ASSIGNMENT: "Metamorphic Rocks GR" due THURSDAY

3-5-15 Thur
Announcements
  • "Metamorphic Rocks GR" is due TODAY

Today
  • Observe samples of granite and gneiss with a hand lens (Pg 160)
  • Metamorphic rocks, pp 160-162
  • Formation of metamorphic rocks Met. Rock Formation

3-6-15 Fri
Today
  • Classify rocks according to their origins (igneous, metamorphic, or sedimentary). Identify different types of igneous, metamorphic, and sedimentary rocks.
Virtual Rock Identification Lab. We will begin this lab today. Use notebook paper to record your data and the results of your correct identification.




3-9-15 Mon
Today
  • Continue working on the "Virtual Rock Identification Lab". This is due by the time we start class on TUESDAY.
  • Don't forget that YOU are responsible for filling out your own data table in your own words and attaching it to the lab before you turn it in. ANSWER THE QUESTIONS IN AT LEAST 3 COMPLETE SENTENCES.

3-10-15 Tues
Announcements
  • "Virtual Rock Identification Lab" due TODAY
  • QUIZ!! Rock Identification

Today

3-11-15 Wed
Announcements
  • TEST FRIDAY

Today
  • Correct the quiz on "Rock Identification"
  • Continue working on the "Rock Cycle Interactive". REMEMBER this is due at the start of class THURSDAY

3-12-15 Thur
Announcements
  • GET YOUR ROCK IDENTIFICATION LAB TURNED IN!
  • TEST FRIDAY

Today
  • Go through your "Rock Cycle Interactive" worksheets
  • Review for the test on Rocks
  • STUDY!!!!!

3-13-15 Fri
Today
  • "Rocks and the Rock Cycle Test"
  • Turn in you "Rock Cycle Review" sheet when you are done with your test.
  • NO HOMEWORK!

3-16-15 Mon
Announcements
  • Old books will get turned in today!

Today
  • You get new books today that will need to be covered with a paper book cover by WEDNESDAY, "Earth's Changing Surface"
  • ASSIGNMENT: We are in chapter 4 in the book. Section 1, "Fossils", starts on page 110. "Fossils GR" due WEDNESDAY

3-17-15 Tues
Announcements
  • REMINDER: "Fossils GR" due WEDNESDAY
  • REMINDER: Books need to have paper book covers on them by WEDNESDAY!

Today
  • Preview Chapter 4, pp 108-109. Video Preview
  • Read/discuss pp 110-113

3-18-15 Wed
Announcements
  • "Fossils GR" due TODAY

Today

Fossil Butte National Monument
NPS Paleontology Interactive

3-23-15 Mon
Announcements
  • "The Relative Age of Rock GR" is due TODAY

Today

3-24-15 Tues
Announcements
  • "The Grandest Canyon of All" is due THURSDAY

Today
  • Discuss the "Rocks" test
  • Finish discussing Relative Age pf Rocks section
  • Video Field Trip

3-26-15 Thur
Announcements
  • "The Grandest Canyon of All" is due TODAY
Today

3-27-15 Fri
Announcements
  • "Finding Clues to Rock Layers" should get finished today and turned in to the tray. DO THAT FIRST!

Today

3-30-15 Mon
Announcements
  • "Geologic Time Webquest" should get finished TODAY. DO NOT TURN IT IN!

Today
  • When you are done with the webquest, start working on you new ASSIGNMENT: "The Geologic Time Scale GR" due WEDNESDAY


3-31-15 Tues
Announcements
  • Get caught up from the goofy week

Today
  • REMINDER: "The Geologic Time Scale GR" AND "The Geologic Time Webquest" are both due WEDNESDAY

4-1-15 Wed
Announcements
  • "The Geologic Time Scale GR" due TODAY

Today
  • Go through the "Geologic Time Webquest" together as a class. HAND IN YOUR WEBQUEST PAPERS!
  • How did our Earth change with time? We will watch the first few minutes of this video, but I encourage you to visit this page and view the entire video. "Geologic Time"
  • This is an artists vision of what 4.6 billion years on Earth may have looked like -- "Our Story in One Minute"

Explanation: Could you tell the story of human existence in a minute? This thrilling video culls together multiple teasing snippets in an attempt to do just that. And sets it to music. Briefly depicted, from start to finish, is an artistic animation of the Big Bang, a trip across the early universe, the formation of the Earth and Moon, the emergence of multi-celled life and plants, the rise of reptiles and dinosaurs, a devastating meteor strike, the rise of mammals and humans, and finally the rise of modern civilization. The minute movie ends with a flyover of the modern skyscraper and a human standing atop a snow covered mountain. The above video is the latest from the Symphony of Science project.



4-2-15 Thur
Today
  • Turn in "Geologic Time Scale GR" AND/OR "Geologic Time Webquest" if you haven't already done so.
  • ASSIGNMENT: "Early Earth/Era's of Earth's History GR" due WEDNESDAY. Start working now!

4-7-15 Tues
Announcements
  • "Early Earth/Era's of Earth's history GR" due WEDNESDAY

Today
  • Early Earth, pp 130 - 133.

4-8-15 Wed
Announcements
  • "Early Earth/Ear's of Earth's History GR" due TODAY
  • TEST TUESDAY

Today

4-10-15 Fri
Announcements
  • Chapter Review due MONDAY
  • TEST TUESDAY -- GEOLOGIC TIME SCALE

Today
  • Let's see what changes in life forms have occurred throughout Earth's long history: "Tour Through Time


4-15-15 Wed
Announcements
  • We are done with earth science! Today we trade books and start our discussion of chemistry.

Today


4-16-15 Thur
Announcements
  • REMEMBER: "Describing Matter GR" due FRIDAY

Today


4-17-15 Fri
Announcements
  • "Describing Matter GR" due TODAY
  • "Physical vs. Chemical Properties" due TODAY

Today
  • Review physical and chemical properties
  • Read/discuss pg 10.
  • QUIZ MONDAY (pp 6-9)

4-20-15 Mon
Announcements
  • I will check book covers today!

Today
  • "Atoms, Molecules, Elements and Compounds"




4-21-15 Tues
Announcements
  • "Physical vs. Chemical Changes II" due TODAY

Today
  • Review through pg. 10
  • Read and discuss pp 11-12
  • ASSIGNMENT: Section Assessment, pg 15, #1-4. DUE THURSDAY

4-22-15 Wed
Announcements
  • REMEMBER! Section Assessment questions due THURSDAY

Today

4-24-15 Fri
Announcements
  • "Measuring Matter GR" due MONDAY

Today

4-27-15 Mon
Announcements
  • "Measuring Matter GR" due TODAY

Today


4-28-15 Tues
Today
  • pp 23-25 in your book. Physical vs. chemical changes, changes of state, law of conservation of matter
  • REMEMBER: "Changes in Matter GR" due WEDNESDAY


4-29-15 Wed
Today
  • Early Dismissal
  • "Changes in Matter GR" due TODAY


4-30-15 Thur

Today
  • Pages 26-27 in your book
  • ASSIGNMENT: "Math Analyzing Data pg 27" due FRIDAY

Bill Nye demonstrates endothermic and exothermic reactions:




5-1-15 Fri
Announcements
  • "Math Analyzing Data pg 27" due TODAY

Today
  • Potential vs. kinetic energy, pp 30-31

Watch energy changes between potential and kinetic"




5-4-15 Mon
Announcements
  • REMEMBER: "Energy and Matter GR" due TUESDAY
  • TEST THURSDAY

Today
  • Review potential and kinetic energy:


  • Read/discuss pp 32-33
  • ASSIGNMENT: Chapter Review, pp 37-38 #1-17, 19-25, pg 39 #1-5. DUE WEDNESDAY
  • TEST THURSDAY

5-5-15 Tues

Announcements
  • "Energy and Matter GR" DUE TODAY
  • REMEMBER: Chapter Review due WEDNESDAY
  • REMEMBER: TEST THURSDAY

Today

Review forms of energy:


5-6-15 Wed
Announcements
  • Chapter Review questions are due TODAY

Today
  • Review for the test which is TOMORROW!

5-8-15 Fri
Today

5-11-15 Mon
Announcements
  • REMEMBER: "States of Matter GR" due TOMORROW

Today
  • "Phases of Matter Video (18 min). Bleeping quiz to follow!

5-12-15 Tues
Announcements
  • "States of Matter GR" due TODAY

Today
  • Return tests and discuss
  • Project/read Section 1. Vocab!

5-13-15 Wed
Today





5-14-15 Thur
Announcements
  • REMEMBER: "Changes of State GR" due FRIDAY

Today

5-15-15 Fri
Announcements
  • "Changes of State GR" due TODAY
Today
  • Continue/finish the "States of Matter Virtual Lab". Remember to answer the questions using complete sentences! DO NOT TURN THIS IN YET.
  • QUIZ TUESDAY - "Solids, Liquids and Gases Quiz 1"

5-18-15 Mon
Today
  • Pgs 50-53 in your book
  • Finish working on the "States of Matter Virtual Lab"
  • QUIZ TOMORROW


5-19-15 Tues
Announcements
  • Lab due today
  • Quiz today

Today
  • ASSIGNMENT: "Math Data pg 52", #1-5 AND Section Assessment pg 53, # 1-3. DUE WEDNESDAY

5-21-15 Thur
Announcements
  • Be nice to the sub while I'm canoeing with the 6th grade!

Today

5-22-15 Fri
Announcements
  • "Gas Behavior GR" due TODAY
Today
  • Discuss pp 58-59. Relate this to the video field trip from yesterday.
  • TEST WEDNESDAY

5-26-15 Tues
Announcements
  • TEST TOMORROW

Today
  • Review from yesterday.
  • Charles' Law, and the rest of section 3.
  • Head Rush video:
  • Time to work on your note card for tomorrow's test.

5-25-15 Thur
Announcements
  • If you did not finish your test, come to me during IE today and get it wrapped up!

Today

5-26-15 Fri